During its 33 year history, the Jefferson Awards program has created a reputation of non-partisan excellence and pioneered in establishing the nation's largest media partnership highlighting local community "Unsung Heroes."
    The Jefferson Awards, a program of the American Institute for Public Service, recognize individuals for outstanding community and public service. Founded in 1973 by Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, United States Senator Robert Taft, Jr. and Sam Beard, these prominent awards are presented on both a Local and National level.
    On the local level, a nationwide network of Jefferson Awards media partners consisting of Television Stations, Newspapers and Radio Stations solicit nominations of people who work to better their communities through volunteer and community services. They are ordinary people who do extraordinary work in the community without expectations of recognition or reward. By honoring these Jefferson Award recipients, it is the goal of the program to encourage and inspire others to become involved in their communities and cause related programs.
    Organizations wishing to participate or nominate a Jefferson Award Winner, click here.